Top Tracks 2k13

Hi! I have a blog! Like! OMG wow!

TBH the reason I have been so neglectful of this site is bc being on tumblr 24/7 is the only way to feed my insatiable One Direction obsession (shut up, I knowwwww) so yeah.

But I really wanted to do a series of end-of-the-year music posts so here we are; I’ll get to my top albums in a hot sec although if you read the previous sentence there will be no surprises about what’s at the top of that list. I am really an album-oriented music listener but there were a few tracks that I really liked where the rest of the album didn’t quite make the grade. And um yeah they’re all on Spotify and stuff so like you don’t have to take my word for it but I’m too lazy to link sooooooo here we go in no particular order:

Counting Stars – OneRepublic LISTEN THIS IS JUST A REALLY REALLY GOOD SONG. LIKE.  I don’t even like “Apologize” but this is a whole different thing, man. Just freaking catchy, and the lyrics are brilliant, which seals the whole deal. “Old, but I’m not that old, young but I’m not that bold.” Gah. Ryan Tedder, you really get me, man. (Coincidentally he also helped write one of my other favorite songs of the year but I am getting way ahead of myself now.)

This Is Gospel/Miss Jackson – Panic! At The Disco Too Weird To Live, Too Rare To Die! will trick you because a.) that is a really badass album name and b.) the first two tracks are freaking mind-blowing, but everything else is just… ehhhhhh. Trust me on that one; I really, really tried to like this album but I could not. However, I cannot stop listening to “This Is Gospel” and “Miss Jackson”; they have kind of a different sound than you would expect from the top emo-core band of 2005. I guess the best way to describe them is just just like really rockin’ power ballads? IDK. Go listen if you’re curious. And honorable mention to “Girls/Girls/Boys” for producing the most uncomfortable music video I’ve ever seen along with an interesting NPR post comparing it to the D’Angelo video that inspired it.

The Wire/My Song 5 – HAIM Days Are Gone is another album that I really, really wanted to like as much as freaking everybody else in the universe did, but it just didn’t do it for me. I think I liked HAIM better in 2005 when they were The Like. (Seriously, listen to Are You Thinking What I’m Thinking? and tell me I’m wrong.) But I can get down with both of these tunes so.

Q.U.E.E.N. – Janelle Monáe I know I have already pimped this song on here; to be honest I haven’t given The Electric Lady as much of a chance as I should but this song is just so killer I can’t get past it. The ending rap gives me goosebumps every single freaking time.

Pompeii – Bastille You guys, I think sometimes when watching a music video is the first exposure I have to a song, it ruins it for me? Is that a thing? Because I saw the video for “Pompeii” like six months ago and was like “ehhhh,” but then I listened to the song recently on Spotify after everyone I follow on tumblr was goin hard about Bastille and it’s like, so freaking good.  I haven’t listened to the whole album much, but my initial impression is that this is one of those bands with a very distinctive sound that I can only take in small doses, i.e. Muse/Mumford & Sons/etc. But “Bad Blood” and “Things We Lost In The Fire” are pretty dope too sooooo I guess I’m still on the fence with this one. I’ll keep you posted.

Still Into You – Paramore Such a jam. Hayley Williams is a badass; I really wish I was more into her music but most of it gives me a little bit too much of an early-’00s pop-punk vibe. This is one is perfect tho.

I See Fire – Ed Sheeran This song is honestly just a placeholder for +, which came out freaking two years ago? So yeah, way to hop on that bandwagon super-late. But I got into him a few months ago because of his super-dope cover of Masters of War and definitely not because of his involvement with One Direction/Taylor Swift nope not at all. Anyway “I See Fire” is amazing all on its own too because of its connection to The Hobbit/Lord of The Rings, one of my long-time obsessions. Like, I literally almost cried watching the music video and seeing him drinking tea with Peter Jackson and everything OMG IT’S TOO MUCH. 

Started From The Bottom – Drake Yeah I don’t care this is my jammm and also representative of my emerging rap phase which will be represented more fully on my albums of the year list but if you’re looking for a song to like pump you up this is the one, man.

ETA: CRAP I KNEW I WOULD FORGET ONE I AM SORRY YEEZUS.

Blood On The Leaves – Kanye West I started listening to Yeezus literally two days ago so I can’t in good conscience put it on the albums of the year list buttt this track??? With the “Strange Fruit” sample??? MAN. I have always been 100% on board with Kanye’s claims about his own greatness/genius even though I will never understand anything having to do with the Kardashians; I got into My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy after one of my coworkers literally would not stop raving about it and haven’t looked back since so yeah. People talk crap about “I Am a God”/”hurry up with my damn croissants” but likeeeeee there’s so many layers of references and self-parody that totally get missed if you don’t pay attention and/or take it out of context so yeah.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.